Monroe County

James Monroe was serving as the President of the United States when Monroe County was organized.  The county is divided between the East Fork and West Fork of the White River.  Bloomington is the County Seat and the home of Indiana University, the flagship of the University’s eight campuses.  Bloomington, as well as the whole county, is full of lush green forests and pristine bodies of water and is acknowledged as the “Gateway to Scenic Southern Indiana.  The county is also known for its Limestone which has been quarried since 1826.  Three large reservoir’s have been created by damming up the county’s creeks.  Lake Monroe is the largest followed by Lake Lemon, then Griffy Lake.