Clark County

Clark County is on the North side of the Ohio River across from Louisville, Kentucky.  The major cities and towns in Clark County are Clarksville, Jeffersonville (County Seat), Sellersburg, Charlestown, Henryville and Borden.  Clarksville was the first authorized American settlement in the Northwest Territory, founded in 1784. Clarksville was a small portion of the land given to General George Rogers Clark and his regiment by the State of Virginia.  In 1832 James Howard founded the Howard Shipyards making Clark County a leader in ship building on the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers.  The Railroad brought more economic growth to the area by the Monon Railroad connecting New Albany to Chicago and the Jeffersonville, Madison and Indianapolis Railroad connecting Clark County to the Central Indiana area.  I-65 runs down from Indianapolis through Clarksville to Louisville Kentucky.


« of 2 »